Skip to content

Smith 4th at Seven Sisters; Jenika Parson qualifies for Nationals on both 1M and 3M; Mac wins the 1650; Seniors honored; Jenny chosen as Pineda Award recipient for 2011-2012

January 24, 2012

Seniors Jenny Prince, Alex Page, Karen Fryefield, Becca Chazin (Carly Mailly and Rebecca Rosen not pictured) honored on Sunday

To watch video from the meet:

NORTHAMPTON, Mass.–Wellesley College set four records en route to a dominating first day of the 2012 Seven Sisters Swimming and Diving Championship on Saturday. The Blue won six of 13 events for 802 points, followed by Vassar with 553, Mount Holyoke with 435, Smith with 346 and Bryn Mawr College with 289.

Wellesley’s Keelin Nave set a new Seven Sisters Record in the 100 butterfly, finishing in 59.21, beating a 28 year old record held by Maureen McMahon of Smith, set in 1984.  The Blue’s 800 freestyle relay team of Annie Hamilton, Olivia Hulme, Stephanie Welch, and Nave set both a new meet and Dalton Pool record with a time of 8:08.95, smashing the five year old mark of 8:15.41 set by Wellesley.  In diving, Hayley Goydan set a new Seven Sisters mark with a score of 439.50 on the 1-meter board. Finally, the Blue also set a new pool record in the 400 medley relay with a mark of 4:10.89, beating a 16 year old record held by Springfield College in 1996.  Vassar’s Caroline Shannon also set a new Seven Sisters Record in the 200 yard IM.  Her finish of 2:14.58 bested a five year old mark of 2:15.69, set by Wellesley’s Jenny Wu in 2007.

Wellesley got a 1-2 finish from Nave (5:11.37) and Grace Bachman (5:26.49) in the 500 yard freestyle.  The Blue also picked up a win in the 400 yard medley relay, with Emma Mrkonic, Annie Hamilton, Nave, and Gates finished in 4:10.89, ahead of Vassar’s Olivia Harries, Caroline Shannon, Sydnie Alquist, and Robin Lam.   Hayley Goydan won the 1-meter diving, with an NCAA qualification score of 439.50, while Gabby Cooper-Vespa took third, scoring 368.85.  Emma Mrkonic finished first in the 100 yard backstroke with a time of 1:02.20.

For Vassar, Alison Burns, Robin Lam, Lizzy Balter, and Shannon Sara captured third place in the 200 yard freestyle relay in 1:45.12.  Shannon also finished first in the 400 yard IM, turning in a dominating 4:45.01 time, and was part of the third placed 200 yard medley relay group with Balter, Lam, and Sydnie Alquist in 1:58.62.

The host Pioneers got a second place finish from Jenika Parson in the 1-meter dive. Parson scored 433.40, hitting the NCAA qualification score for the second consecutive meet.  Mackenzie Bradleyfinished third in the 500 yard freestyle, less than half a second out of second place in 5:26.95.  Alyssa Pascuzzo also posted a third place finish in the 200 IM with a time of 2:19.05.  Pascuzzo also posted a third place finish in the 100 fly, in 1:02.76.

Mount Holyoke got a thrilling with in the 200 yard freestyle relay, as the foursome of Lauren Williams, Rachel Boynton, Maya Lazarovich, and Lydia Bowers touched the wall in 1:44.05, just ahead of Wellesley’s Bachman, Megan Lambert, Monica Gates, and Maria Amirkhanashvili, who came in second in 1:44.37.  Bowers also posted a win in the 50 yard freestyle, finishing in 25.23, just ahead of teammate Williams, who came in 26.01.  The Lyons also took home top honors in the 200 yard medley relay, beating Wellesley in an extremely close finish.  Williams, Lazarovich, Bowers, and Joselyn Auxer won by .07 seconds, coming in 1:57.05.

Bowers added to Mount Holyoke’s total with a win in the 200 yard freestyle, finishing in 2:00.73, while Lazarovich (1:11.18) edged out Caroline Shannon of Vassar in the 100 yard breaststroke (1:11.52).

Bryn Mawr got a fourth place finish from Meredith Davis in the 50 yard freestyle, in 26.17, and the Owls also came in fourth in the 200 yard freestyle relay.  Davis joined up with Zoe Guastella, Kristina Xiang, and Judy Yueng to finish in 1:46.46.


At the banquet, a new award was unveiled, to honor Marly Pineda ’08 (M.S. ’10), a former Smith swimmer and coach who passed away in 2010. The Marly Pineda Seven Sisters Swiming and Diving Award is given to the swimmer or diver who, over the course of her career at the Seven Sisters Championships, best exemplifies the dedication, passion, selflessness, sportsmanship, and spirit of a champion that defined Marly.  Each honoree will also be known for er positive attitude, comittment toward making everyone around her feel welcomed and supported, and her “never ever” give up spirit.  The 2012 award went to Smith College senior Jenny Prince.  The award was also backdated, given to members of the classes of 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011 who had a chance to compete with and against Marly from each of the five schools.

Smith Wellesley Bryn Mawr Mount Holyoke Vassar
Lily Seidman ’11 Hilary Gram ’10 Cea Weaver ’10 Shannon Sutherland ’10 Samantha Jones ’11
Faith Latella ’10 Katie Guynn ’09 Allison Shatz ’10 Lisa Nash ’09 Emily Love ’09
Francesca Kotey ’09
Kate Sorensen ’09
Grace Bauer ’08 Liz Gadomski ’08
Shanti Freitas ;08

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: